Printer Friendly Version

Village Vision News

Taylor honored with Pride and Progress Award

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

A 20-year Forsyth resident who believes in paying “civic rent” through participation in municipal government has been named this year’s recipient of the Pride and Progress Humanitarian Award.

Terry Taylor’s selection as the 10th recipient of that award was announced at a Christmas appreciation dinner held Dec. 13 at the Decatur Hotel & Conference Center for officials, staff, employees and committee members. Taylor was unable to attend the event and will be presented the award at a future Village Board meeting.

 Taylor, a St. Louis native who is retired from Illinois Power Co. and the YMCA, has lived on Christopher Drive since 1991 where he and his wife, Cindy, built their home. An active member of the Public Works Committee since 1997, he also has served as a community volunteer, including a stint on the Health and Safety Committee during a time when the Village purchased radar guns and developed disaster plans. He believes committee work strengthens the Village by allowing residential input which trustees can consider when formulating goals and making decisions that affect the entire community.

 “Terry is a unique individual who finds fulfillment in helping others through various organizations in which he’s been involved,” said Mayor Hap Gilbert, who has known Taylor throughout the years and once counted him among the members of the Public Works Committee which he chaired prior to becoming mayor. Yet it is not the committee work alone which merited Taylor the award, the mayor said.

 Cited in the nominating petition were his “...many hours of hard work to various volunteer organizations both in the Decatur area and in Forsyth.” Among the accomplishments listed were participation in the Decatur Celebration, Gus Macker basketball tournaments, Futures LPGA Golf tournaments, St. Teresa High School building committee, Summerstart boat races and Decatur Arts in the Park.

 The annual Pride & Progress Award, which began in 2004, has honored a total of 18 recipients in the categories of economic development and humanitarianism. No award for economic development was given this year. A six-member ad hoc committee, including Becky Allsup, Sid Auddifred, Jack Hilberling, Elaine Kottke, Ron Oliver and Terry Parrish, reviewed the nominees. The Economic Development Committee sponsors the awards.

^ Back to Top ^

Site by HomeSight, LLC